April 22, 2024

AERA Announces 2022 Award Winners in Training Analysis

Newswise — Washington, April 8, 2022—The American Educational Study Association (AERA) has announced the winners of its 2022 awards for excellence in education investigation.

“We are excited to honor these exemplary persons for their superb achievements in advancing instruction analysis,” reported AERA Government Director Felice J. Levine. “Their cutting-edge scholarship and tireless assist of the education investigation subject are producing a variance in the life of pupils, educators, and others.”

AERA will honor the recipients at an awards ceremony at the 2022 Annual Assembly on Sunday, April 24, from 11:30 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. PT in the San Diego Convention Middle.’

Distinguished Contributions to Study in Education Award

Receiver: William H. Schmidt (Michigan Condition College)

The Distinguished Contributions to Investigate in Training Award is the premier acknowledgment of remarkable achievement and accomplishment in schooling investigate. It is built to publicize, motivate, inspire, and advise models for instruction analysis at its most effective.

Distinguished Public Support Award

Recipient: Peggy G. Carr (Nationwide Middle for Schooling Studies)

This award is granted on a yearly basis in recognition of an specific who has worked to enact or put into action guidelines that are properly grounded in schooling research, or who has been at the forefront of attempts to raise recognition and help for education exploration.

Excellence in Media Reporting on Training Research Award

Receiver: Anya Kamenetz (Nationwide General public Radio)

This award acknowledges a particular person who has produced noteworthy contributions to reporting on conclusions, bodies of study, or scholarship in the discipline of education and learning research in any medium of public communication. The award honors a media experienced whose do the job exemplifies marketing a broader vision of the worth of instruction research to society. 

Palmer O. Johnson Memorial Award

Recipients: Drew H. Gitomer (Rutgers College), José Felípe Martinez (University of California, Los Angeles), Dan Battey (Rutgers University), and Nora E. Hyland (Rutgers University)

Evaluating the Evaluation: Evidence of Dependability and Validity in the edTPAAmerican Academic Research Journal, Volume 58, Issue 5, February 2021.

This award recognizes the lifelong achievement of Palmer O. Johnson as a devoted educator and for his pioneering operate in academic research and methodology. The award is supplied for an exceptional post appearing in AERA Open up, the American Educational Investigation Journal, Academic Evaluation and Coverage Evaluation, Academic Researcher, or the Journal of Academic and Behavioral Figures.

Overview of Investigate Award

Recipient: Christa J. Porter (Kent State College) and Janice A. Byrd (The Pennsylvania State University)

Comprehending Influences of Growth on Black Women’s Achievements in U.S. Schools: A Synthesis of LiteratureOverview of Educational Study, Quantity 91, Difficulty 6, December 2021

This award is offered in recognition of an exceptional assessment of study write-up appearing in the Evaluate of Investigation in Education or the Review of Educational Study.

Exceptional Reserve Award

Receiver: Jarvis Givens (Harvard College)

Fugitive Pedagogy: Carter G. Woodson and the Art of Black Instructing

The Exceptional Ebook Award was founded to accept and honor the year’s most effective book-size publication in education investigation and growth.

E.F. Lindquist Award

Recipient: Daniel M. Koretz (Harvard College)

This award is introduced jointly by AERA and ACT in recognition of superb utilized or theoretical study in the field of testing and measurement. The award is intended to admit a physique of research of an empirical, theoretical, or integrative nature relatively than a solitary review.

Early Career Award

Receiver: Nelson Flores (University of Pennsylvania)

Proven to honor an person in the early phases of their career no afterwards than 10 many years after receipt of the doctoral diploma, this award is granted for analyze in any field of academic inquiry.

Social Justice in Schooling Award

Receiver: Tyrone C. Howard (University of California, Los Angeles)

Founded in 2004, the Social Justice in Education Award honors an person who has state-of-the-art social justice by schooling investigation and exemplified the target of linking schooling research to social justice.

Distinguished Contributions to Gender Fairness in Training Investigation Award

Receiver: Kimberly A. Scott (Arizona State University)

Established in 2006, the Distinguished Contributions to Gender Fairness in Training Study Award acknowledges individuals for distinguished exploration, experienced practice, and actions that advance general public knowing of gender and/or sexuality at any degree in the education neighborhood.

Exemplary Contributions to Practice-Engaged Research Award

Recipient: Robin Starr Zape-tah-hol-ah Minthorn (University of Washington, Tacoma)

This award is introduced to an schooling investigation scholar or scholars in recognition of collaborative task(s) amongst researchers and practitioners that have had sustained and observable consequences on contexts of follow.

Excellent General public Communication of Schooling Exploration Award

Receiver: Matthew A. Kraft (Brown University)

This award honors students exemplary in their capacity to converse the significance of instruction study to the broad general public, such as education and learning communities. It acknowledges scholars who have excelled in conveying important conclusions and investigate to extensive audiences and who have demonstrated the capacity to deepen knowledge and appreciation of the worth of schooling research in the community sphere.

2022 Students of Color Early Job Contribution Award

Receiver: Krystal L. Williams (College of Ga)

Offered to a scholar who is within just the to start with decade of their vocation after receipt of a doctoral diploma, this award is supposed to understand (a) students who have created substantial contributions to the comprehension of issues that disproportionately influence minority populations, and (b) minority scholars who have created a sizeable contribution to instruction study and progress.

Scholars of Color Mid-Profession Contribution Award

Receiver: Sonya Douglass Horsford (Academics College)

Introduced to a scholar in mid-job who is beyond the first amount of qualified appointment and for whom 10 or far more a long time have passed because receipt of the doctoral degree, this award is meant to understand (a) scholars who have made sizeable contributions to the being familiar with of difficulties that disproportionately have an impact on minority populations, and (b) minority students who have built a important contribution to education and learning investigate and enhancement.

2022 Students of Color Distinguished Career Contribution Award

Receiver: Alfredo J. Artiles (Stanford University)

Presented to a senior-amount scholar, usually 20 a long time or extra just after receipt of the doctoral diploma, this award is meant to understand (a) students who have created significant contributions to the comprehending of concerns that disproportionately affect minority populations, and (b) minority students who have created a substantial contribution to instruction analysis and improvement.


About AERA

The American Educational Investigate Affiliation (AERA) is the most significant countrywide interdisciplinary investigate association devoted to the scientific study of education and learning. Established in 1916, AERA improvements expertise about training, encourages scholarly inquiry associated to instruction, and promotes the use of investigation to enhance education and serve the public excellent. Discover AERA on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.